East TN Women's Leadership Summit -
June 12, 2015;
Live. Learn. Lead.


Past "E" Award

2011 Recipients

Dr. Ruth Johnson Smiley • Sherry Stewart Deutschmann • Carolyn Hardy • Melvin Malone • Cordia Harrington • Denise G. Burnett

2010 Recipients

Joan Cronan • Kathy Buckman Gibson • Deborah Taylor Tate • Laurie Tucker • Rebecca Climer • Etta Clark

2009 Recipients

Mary Clement • Dr. Shirley Raines • Lisa Smithgall

2008 Recipients

Joan Bolden • Susan Lodal • Cynthia Moxley • Betty Chiles Nixon Carolyn Baldwin Tucker • Kathy England Walsh • Mary Wilder

2007 Recipients

Rosalyn Carpenter • Agenia Clark • Senator Thelma Harper • Mary Hodge Jinks • Rep. Sherry Jones • Deborah Reed

2006 Recipients

Shannon Alvey • Anne Banks • Cheri Childress • Phyllis Clinger
Beth Dixon • Senator Anna Belle O'Brien • Patricia Pierce
Kathy Waugh • Teresa C. Williamson

2005 Recipients

Margaret Behm • Louise Brown • Lee Fairbend • Brenda Gilmore
Phyllis Jones • Pat Matranga • Tommie Morton-Young
Sara Jean Norby • Kara Michelle Russell • Linda Williams

2004 Recipients

Leea Allen • Mary Elizabeth Bates • Stephanie L. Bellar • Sherre Bishop
Mary Lindley Carswell • Cathy Hix Cunningham • Barbara N. Haynes
Dixie Taylor-Huff • Kamilia Kozlowski • Deborah Levine
Mary Frances Lyle • Lisa Houston Montgomery • Adrienne Outlaw
Shelley Reisman Paine • Gayle S. Rose • Damita Eyre Shaw
Courtney Alexandra Shelton • Sylvia Stamper

About E-Awards

The Foundation is pleased to recognize the leadership and talents of extraordinary Tennessee women through the presentation of the "E" Awards. These awards are periodically presented to women who have distinguished themselves in a specific field or life commitment that has contributed to improving the lives of girls and women in Tennessee.

They have achieved success and acknowledgement in her profession or in volunteerism, and community involvement.

2012 "E" Award Winners

Shirley Hastings, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Dean, UT Extension Department of Family Consumer Sciences, the University of Tennessee
East Tennessee Honoree

Throughout her career, Shirley Hastings consistently has raised the bar in whatever capacity she has served. Prior to Hastings' assuming her current position, the unit had been under the fiscal oversight of the Agricultural administrators (male). During her tenure at UT, she has been a fearless watchdog and champion of the role of women throughout the system, fighting for the professional status of women when important decisions were being made regarding policy, pay, unit funding, recognition and future opportunity. In an era where many Family and Consumer Science units have seen cutbacks, she has maintained position as the most progressive, efficient and productive in UT and across the nation.

Statement by Shirley Hastings
"I am very honored to receive the E-Award because of the high professional standards and achievements it symbolizes and especially because of its recognition of the important role of women's accomplishments to the economy of this state."

Anita Vaughn
CEO - Baptist Women's Hospital
West Tennessee Honoree

Anita Vaughn is CEO of Baptist Women's Hospital, and served as Chair of the Board of the Women's Foundation for Greater Memphis. In that role, she works tirelessly to raise funds for the foundation. Under her guidance, Baptist Women's Hospital was chosen of the top three in the nation, receiving awards including the American Hospital Association's McKesson Quest for Quality Award, largely due to the uniqueness of its breast care program. The hospital, which always has a waiting list of potential employees, was also named Best Place to Work for Large Employers.

Anita Vaughn´┐Żs Statement
"I am truly honored to be selected as this year's West Tennessee E-Award recipient. My recognition reflects the work of an army of women who are committed to improving the health of women at every stage of their lives. I would hope that their recognition continues to positively impact the economic status of women and children in Tennessee."

Tom Aaron
Deloitte LLP
Middle Tennessee Corporate Honoree

Company Overview
Deloitte LLP is recognized as a leader in advancing women, thanks in large part to its "waging change" program two decades ago when it launched an initiative for the retention and advancement of women. That Women's Initiative (WIN) has helped give Deloitte the intellectual capital to meet aggressive growth targets and to be consistently ranked by Fortune, Business Week and Working Mother Magazine among the best places to work. Deloitte consistently has shown strong professional development programs for women employees as well as core values that emphasize the value of participating in community-based activities. Jan Madddox will accept this E-Award at the Summit. She began her career at Deloitte in 1981 and advanced up the ranks to become Director - U.S. and Global Business Operations (ITS).

Statement by Larry Quinlan, Chief Information Officer
"At Deloitte, our commitment to the advancement of women is woven tightly into the fabric of our culture. We see attracting, retaining and developing women as a business imperative. It fuels our growth, creates the most effective teams and distinguishes us in the marketplace by allowing us to deliver more value and innovative business solutions to our clients."

Statement by Tom Aaron, TN Office Managing Partner
"We are honored to receive the E-Award and are especially proud of what it represents: our support of women professionals to excel in their careers and their commitment to the community. We accept this award on behalf of all the women professionals at Deloitte in Tennessee and will proudly share this achievement with our professionals and community partners."

Summit Now Blog

First Lady of Tennessee Media Privacy Policy Contact Us

©2015 Women's Economic Council Foundation
Council 615-253-4266   Foundation 615-969-2857